Home > electronics, Uncategorized > Awesome HSV RGB IKEA lamp

Awesome HSV RGB IKEA lamp

When my girlfriend gave me her birthday present, i was overwhelmed. The drawing was perfect, I loved the motive, details and shadows. And it came that she had her own birthday! This was the moment i decided not to buy one of her wishlist’s entrys (yes i keep track) but build something by my own too (let’s just stick to buying things okay?). I thought about painting a picture too but decided against it. I just didn’t want to reveal my inner artist and make her jealous.

Since im a student of it and electronics, i chose to build something wired.  It had to be cool but also instructive for me i though. I always planned on building a “proper” RedGreenBlue LED Lamp which could fade between colors. But i never found the time nor the motivation to do something símilar in my freetime. The first attempts on my Arduino Board were pretty basic. The colors were fading, yes, but randomly which means (in RGB color space) pretty white changes to a white reddish to bright white reddish to a bright white reddish with a touch of green or blue. This wasn’t  that exciting at all. I “went” to the mikrocontroller.net community and asked about color spaces. My idea was to make a distinction between color and brightness and avoid same colors with just different portions of white. I found that the hsv (hue saturation value) color space met my needs. It allowed me to use a simple potentiometer for choosing the color (hue) and a further one for the brightness, while the saturation remains constant (no white parts please ;-))

I started coding (checkout github) the code for an atmega8 controller and tested it on a breadboard first. I found and bought a perfect fitting aluminium globe at IKEA which could hold both the led and the electronic circuit. Then I began with the final board layout in Eagle and ordered the other parts at reichelt: Three Potentiometers (two logarithmic ones), three nmos transistors, resistors, capacitors, push buttons, toggle and finally the power supply (5V2A).

I attached the parts to the new board and tested it with Georg who provided an oscillocope and even a 3D printer. I  designed and printed two plastic parts for the globe to hold the led and the board.

Also I changed the original design from a standing lamp to a laying one. I though it would look nicer and lighten a wall much better. Also the potentiometers and buttons were better accessible (It’s not a bug it’s a feature).

Everything looked fine but a random flashing which disturbed me. One user from the forum gave me hint that there could be something wrong with my code since he had the same problem in the past. So glad this guy read the post -> no flickering anymore!

During the project i learned a lot about the whole progress of implementing a vision. I really started with a vague idea and then made use of a great toolchain (3d printing, uC development, board layout in eagle, testing testing and testing with oscilloscope)… Also i must say that there were a lot of coincidences like a broken diode and a wrongly connected mosfet which i eventually hadn’t noticed in other places… Maybe you (Kenzie) remember that i was happy about the one day on skype? Yeah, i figured the board was actually working … so this was my last week; for you! be happy!

Looking forward to party in fading colors!

Reference:

https://github.com/kreuzUndQwertz/hsv2rgb (code and board layouts as well as the openscad 3d designs)

http://www.mikrocontroller.net/topic/262143#postform (thread on rgb space and flashing issue)

Categories: electronics, Uncategorized
  1. November 28, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Great post! Have ordered part and ready to try something of the same!

    But your github link seems to be broken :(

    Regards
    Paul

    • November 30, 2013 at 2:25 pm

      Hey, yeah the github link no longer exists. I recommend you download the zip file.

  2. November 28, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    Another small question: The drawing, is it your girlfriend who drew it?

    I really love it!

    • November 30, 2013 at 2:27 pm

      No she’s not. When she drew it, she took a picture from a magazin as a template.

  1. November 12, 2013 at 7:59 pm
  2. November 30, 2013 at 6:32 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

